Possession of Marijuana - More than 10 but 30 Grams or Less
June 9, 2021
If you have been pulled over more than 10 grams of marijuana in your possession, then you could be facing harsher penalties than if you simply had a much smaller amount. To put it into perspective, a common unit of selling marijuana is a "Dime Bag" which weighs approximately 1 gram (see photo above for example). Therefore, you would need at a minimum 10 Dime Bags before you would be entering the class A misdemeanor territory.
Possession of up to 35 grams of marijuana has been decriminalized by certain Missouri municipalities. If you are found to be in possession of up to 35 grams in Columbia, St. Louis City or Kansas City then you will be issued a citation for an ordinance violation and punished by a fine. No jail time is authorized under these decriminalized ordinances; however, this does not prevent the State from pressing charges under State law even within these jurisdictions.
In State Court, you will be facing a serious charge that could result in up to 1 year in the County Jail. Not taking your case seriously because it is "only marijuana" could wind up costing you a future job. If you find yourself facing a class A misdemeanor offense, contact a Missouri Drug defense attorney as soon as possible to learn what options are available to you.
IF YOU ARE IN POSSESSION OF MORE THAN 10 GRAMS BUT 35 GRAMS OR LESS OF MARIJUANA IN MISSOURI, THEN YOU COULD FACE THE FOLLOWING PENALTIES:
A class A misdemeanor criminal record.
A jail sentence of up to 1 year.
A fine of up to $2,000.
A combination of both a jail sentence and a fine.
Probation for not less than 6 months and up to 2 years, either Supervised or Unsupervised.
Costs for probation.
Random Drug Testing and the Costs.
Alternative Diversionary or Treatment Programs.
The costs you will be facing when charged with a class A misdemeanor are not limited to your legal fees and any fines and court costs you may be assessed. If you are ordered to participate in random urinalysis testing, then you will be responsible for paying these costs as well. There will also be costs associated with probation and any other conditions which may be imposed on you.
Hiring the right attorney is the only way to minimize the damage if you decide not to go to trial. Contact Anthony Bretz today to learn how he can help you overcome your possession charge and get you back to the things that matter most to you. Remember, just because it is "only a misdemeanor" does not mean you do not have Constitutional rights. Let Anthony Bretz fight for you.