Sixth Missouri DUI
June 9, 2021
ARE YOU BEING CHARGED WITH A SIXTH DUI?
A sixth DUI in Missouri is a serious felony charge. It is classified as a B felony, meaning it carries significant prison time. Prosecuting Attorneys are less likely to negotiate a plea deal that does not involve significant prison time, leaving you with no other option than to take the case to trial. You need a seasoned Missouri DUI Attorney on your side at trial.
Even if you get probation you will still have to serve two years in jail. Felony DUI cases require a dedicated and experienced lawyer like Anthony Bretz. He can help you by using his proven skills in the courtroom and his understanding of the intricacies of Missouri DUI law.
**You ONLY have 15 days to file a Request for an Administrative Hearing or a Petition for Review in order to prevent your driver's license from being suspended or revoked.**
Being charged with a class B felony requires an attorney who knows the law, understands the Missouri DUI penalties and is intimately familiar with the tactics police use when making DUI arrests. There is no plea dealing with the State that does not require prison time. You need an aggressive Missouri DUI Defense Attorney like Anthony Bretz representing you to allow you to have the best defense for trial.
PENALTIES FOR A SIXTH DUI:
A Class B felony criminal record if you have been classified as an Habitual DUI offender, or while driving while intoxicated, you act with criminal negligence to cause death to a law enforcement officer or emergency personnel; or while driving while intoxicated, you act with criminal negligence to cause the death of any person not a passenger, including the death of an individual that results from your vehicle leaving a highway or the highway's right-of-way; you act with criminal negligence to cause the death of two or more persons; or you act with criminal negligence to cause the death of any person while your blood alcohol content is at least eighteen-hundredths of one percent by weight of alcohol in your blood.
From a minimum of two years in prison if granted probation, or five to fifteen years in prison.
Loss of your license for 10 years.
Loss of your license for 90 days or 1 year, though a Restricted Driving Privilege can be obtained.
You will be assessed Court Costs which vary depending on the court your case is in.
Five years of Supervised Probation with fees, after serving 2 years in prison.
You will have to participate and complete a Substance Awareness Traffic Offenders Program (SATOP).
You will have to participate and complete a Victim Impact Panel (VIP) presentation by MADD.
You may have to complete Community Service.
You may be ordered to submit to continuous alcohol monitoring or verifiable breath alcohol testing performed a minimum of four times per day.
*DUI's can result in loss of driving privileges via a criminal conviction, through points, or via an administrative action; additionally, you could wind up having to serve BOTH suspensions back-to-back.
You only have 15 days to file a Request for an Administrative Hearing or a Petition for Review in order to prevent your driver's license from being suspended or revoked.
Following your arrest for DWI or DUI, the Department of Revenue (DOR) will suspend or revoke your license for up to a year for a subsequent offense within 5 years. You will be provided a Temporary 15-Day Driving Permit that will permit you to drive after your arrest for 15 days, after which your driving privileges will be suspended unless you act NOW. Depending on whether you refused to provide a sample or not you will be able to challenge the DOR's suspension of your driving privileges in Civil Court or in an Administrative Hearing.
Class B felony charges will result in serious prison time if you do not win at trial. There is no time to waste when it comes to protecting your rights with a Sixth DUI in Missouri. Contact Anthony Bretz now to get a skilled Missouri DUI Lawyer working on your case immediately.