First Missouri DUI
Sept. 17, 2020
WERE YOU ARRESTED FOR DRIVING WHILE INTOXICATED?
A first DWI or DUI charge in Missouri is a serious charge and it should not be treated lightly. There are many aspects to every DUI case that require an experienced Missouri DUI Attorney to properly evaluate and handle. One wrong move or one missed opportunity could wind up costing you your license for as little as 3 months or as long as 1 year.
You have 15 days to file a Request for an Administrative Hearing or a Petition for Review in order to prevent your driver's license from being suspended or revoked.
Whether your case is pending in a Municipal Court or a Circuit Court, you need an aggressive Missouri DUI Defense Attorney like Anthony Bretz representing you before your first court date. He will help you know what to expect with a first DUI, and zealously defend your rights.
PENALTIES FOR A FIRST DUI:
A Class B misdemeanor criminal record.
You could serve from one day to six months in jail, but this can often be exchanged for an increased fine.
Loss of your license for 90 days for a conviction, though a Restricted Driving Privilege can be obtained.
You could be fined up to $1000.
You will be assessed Court Costs which vary depending on the court your case is in.
Two years of Probation with fees could be Supervised or Unsupervised.
You will have to participate and complete a Substance Awareness Traffic Offenders Program (SATOP).
You will have to participate and complete a Victim Impact Panel (VIP) presentation by MADD.
You may have to complete 40-50 hours of Community Service.
*DUI's can result in loss of driving privileges via a criminal conviction, through points, or via an administrative action; additionally, you could wind up having to serve BOTH suspensions back-to-back.
You only have 15 days to file a Request for an Administrative Hearing or a Petition for Review in order to prevent your driver's license from being suspended or revoked.
Following your arrest for DWI or DUI, the Department of Revenue (DOR) will suspend or revoke your license for up to a year for a first-time offender. You will be provided a Temporary 15-Day Driving Permit that will permit you to drive after your arrest for 15 days, after which your driving privileges will be suspended unless you act. Depending on whether you refused to provide a sample or if you did provide a sample you will be able to challenge the DOR's suspension of your driving privileges in Civil Court or in an Administrative Hearing.
There is no time to waste when it comes to protecting your rights even with a First DUI in Missouri. Contact Anthony Bretz now to get a skilled Missouri DUI Lawyer working on your case immediately.