Got a Speeding Ticket?
Hiring a Lawyer May Be the Cheapest Option
Getting a traffic ticket can put a damper on your day but that doesn't mean you have to roll over and take it. Paying the suggested Fines and Court Costs may seem cheaper than hiring an experienced Traffic Lawyer, but it may result in higher insurance rates because of it. The fact is, after paying higher insurance premiums for years, hiring a Traffic Lawyer like Anthony S. Bretz is cheaper in the long run than simply paying the Fines and Costs.
Don't yourself a disservice by skimping on the lawyer fees. In most cases, your traffic ticket can be handled for less than a hundred dollars by an experienced attorney. More serious tickets may result in higher fees, but in the end, you may save hundreds of dollars in insurance costs.
Aside from avoiding higher insurance costs, hiring a St. Louis County Traffic Lawyer to fix your ticket helps with future speeding tickets. When you get traffic ticket, the Prosecutor will pull your Driving Record. The more speeding convictions, or convictions for Driving While Revoked or Driving While Suspended, that appear on your Driving Record, the less likely the Prosecutor is to work out a deal with no points. Hiring a lawyer is the best way to ensure you maintain a clean driving record.
Avoid Points on Your License
At Bretz Legal, we have helped hundreds of clients with resolving their traffic tickets like: Speeding, Driving While Suspended/Revoked, DWI, No Insurance, or Stop Sign Violations. In most cases, clients are able to plead guilty to a non-moving violation and avoid points against their Driver's License.
Missouri's Point System
Simply pay the suggested fines not only can result in higher insurance costs, but it also means points will be added to license. Get too many points in too short a time frame, and you will face losing your license. An experienced Traffic Lawyer can help you avoid this outcome.
If you receive 4 points in 12 months, the Department of Revenue will send you a Point Accumulation Advisory Letter.
If you receive 8 or more points in 18 months, the Department of Revenue will suspend your driving privilege.
Your 1st suspension will be for 30 days
Your 2nd suspension will be for 60 days
Your 3rd or more suspension will be for 90 days
Aside from facing possible suspensions of your driving privileges, the Department of Revenue will revoke your license for 1 year if you get:
12 or more points in 12 months
18 or more points in 24 months
24 or more points in 36 months
How Points Come Off Your License
After your Driver's License is reinstated following either a Point Suspension or Revocation, the Department of Revenue will reduce your total points to 4.
After that, and for every year you drive without getting any new points on your record, the points will be reduced.
After 1 year your total remaining points are reduced by one-third
After 2 years your remaining points are reduced by one-half
After 3 years all of your remaining points are reduced to zero
Caution: Certain types of traffic convictions must remain listed permanently on your Missouri driver record. This means that despite your points total being reduced to zero, you may still have convictions on your record. This is another important reason hiring an experienced traffic lawyer is necessary. Avoiding having your driving record permanently marred by a conviction may help in avoiding future raises to your insurance rates.
Various Tickets and Their Points
Speeding (More than 5 MPH Over the Posted Limit) & Excessive Speeding
Under State Law - 3 Points
Under County Ordinance - 2 Points
Under Municipal Ordinance - 2 Points
Driving While Suspended/Revoked
Under State Law, County or Municipal Ordinance - 12 Points (Which means automatic 1 Year Revocation)
1st Offense Under State Law, County or Municipal Ordinance - 8 Points (Which means automatic Suspension)
2nd Offense Under State Law, County or Municipal Ordinance - 12 Points (Which means automatic 1 Year Revocation)
Failure to Produce Insurance ID
Under State Law, County or Municipal Ordinance - 4 Points (Which means you'll receive a Point Accumulation Advisory Letter)
Stop Sign Violation (Rolling Stop)
Under State Law or County Ordinance - 2 Points
Under Municipal Ordinance With No Accident - 1 Point
Under Municipal Ordinance With an Accident - 2 Points
Don't Just Pay Your Fines, Call Bretz Legal Today to Help You!